Smarter than average

{ 11.04.04, 3:51 a.m. }

◊ I looked up at the sky tonight and saw the Orion constellation. That, along with the cold, means winter.

That's not a very good sign. I have a bad track record with winter. It's not that they're all bad, it's just easy to dwell on bad when the weather's cold and the house is so quiet that I can hear the pinging noises of the heater.

I'll just blame the sullenness on an artistic temperament. "I'm like this every year," I'll say. "Right about the time I break out my flannel sheets, I stop sleeping and I drink too much coffee and get a little sleep-deprivation deliriousness going on. It's like hibernation in reverse. Come spring, I'll be breaking into cars to steal picnic baskets and bitching about Ranger Smith behind his back and everything will be fine."

I think, instead of dwelling on bad winters, I'll buy a bunch of rechargeable batteries and take a lot of pictures of lamps.

(If you notice a drop in my blogging rate, it's because recently I'm obsessed with becoming a not-as-awful photographer. I'm funneling my creative energies into heating frozen pizzas and drinking beer and occasionally taking pictures.)

previousnextrandom