Drunken disorder

{ 02.25.04, 4:56 p.m. }

◊ Ugh.

The weekend started out just fine: Friday was a party at Luke's where many drinking games were played and much raucousness and carousing went on. (I was more "raucous" than "carousing" myself, now that I'm not single and can't make as much with the licentiousness). Saturday I went to the Alternative Press Expo with Dan and he got me a page of original art from Finder (eeee!) and then afterward I found out Dean's super-secret event for us was not a swinger party like he said, but seeing Lewis Black at the Improv.

Damn. And I was really looking forward to the swinger party.

By Monday, I was sick. Still am. I've got a booming cough and a raspy voice and a constantly-dripping nose. Because I'm unprepared and hadn't brough Kleenex (actually off-brand "facial tissues"), I've been mopping snot with several yards of toilet paper from the school bathroom, which is a torture all its own. I might as well be rubbing my nostrils and upper lip with a sanding block.

I was discussing my illness with Owen yesterday and told him the drinking and smoking I've done recently has probably kicked my immune system in the nuts. Our conversation took the usual "making light of the hidously serious" route and he told me I had "drinking AIDS."

Makes sense, I thought. I analyzed it further as I wandered around the house, coughing fiercely. You get exposed to the Heavy Inebriation Virus and you could end up with Alcoholic Immunodeficiency Syndrome.

If I keep up this drinking thing, I could end up with an afterschool special like Ryan White did! While I'm nowhere near as cherubic, with my short skirt and my freshly-dyed hair combed all cute and the shoes that match my hair color, I am pretty photogenic right now. The director could go for a grittier, harsher "the Jezebel's lifestyle finally catches up with her" kind of angle. It'll look extra good if I get that short, angled bobbed haircut with a bang that I've been wanting-- kind of a short Bettie Page minus the rockabilly look.

It'll be great. I've already got the blue circles under my eyes from sleeping poorly, and I'm perfecting my "inner beauty and strength shining through the pain" face right now.

previousnextrandom