I ain't fuckin' depressed ... am I?

{ 12.02.03, 10:52 p.m. }

◊ Today I was enthusing about blogging. I mentioned that I read Julio's, Luke's and Owen's blogs, and I was talking about how cool it is to see such a different side of these people I'm always around.

"Yeah," Luke said with that wide, eerily genuine smile I am learning to be wary of, "like how I never knew you were so depressed."

Hey, now.

I do admit I have a lot of time on my hands and all-you-can-eat drama and possibly the beginnings of a drinking problem, but ... hey, now.

Sometimes I don't feel like writing about the surface crap. Like today. What would I tell you?

"I just came back from Mountain View where I ate pho and bought some used books, and now I am eating a bagel and drinking a Red Hook ESB and watching Facelifts from Hell on the Learning Channel and wondering why my jeans smell funny and thinking that whoever invented Scrappy Doo should be shot. And for some reason, right now I really want to fuck with Alkaline Trio playing really, really loud in the background. And I need to take out the trash and recycling tonight. And seriously, what is up with this jean funk? And why haven't I just changed pants? I wonder if anyone could get me some speed — not enough for me to go all tweaker, but just enough for me to lose about 10 pounds."

Just 'cause Luke comes out with the humorous anecdotes and depth and introspection and cool stories about working for the Palo Alto Daily News.

Jeez. But what do you expect from someone who wants to throw a party for his entertainment center.

I mean, why the hell didn't I think of that?

previousnextrandom