Newest new-old bike

{ 11.13.04, 5:19 p.m. }

◊ Ah did it agin.

My new bicycle

This is my newest new-old bike. (Translated into comprehensible English, that means "my most recently purchased old bicycle," but that's nowhere near as much fun to say.) That brings the total up to three working bikes and one fixer.

"Didn't you just buy a bike?" my dad asked when I borrowed the minivan to go pick it up.

"Well, yeah," I said. "But you know how you always have a car or two sitting around that you're working on? It's like that. With bikes."

He chuckled. I had him.

The woman who sold me the bike said she was inspired to get it by the bikes she'd seen all over Amsterdam. But now she's moving to San Francisco to a third-floor apartment with no storage, so she had to sell it. I mentioned I'd been planning to transfer to SFSU, and she said "That's why I'm moving!"

I said with a straight face that this was obviously part of an overarcing plot in which people with cool bikes are inexorably drawn to San Francisco. She laughed, which was good. That's usually that kind of statement that makes people look a little wary and change the subject.

I mentioned going to Critical Mass last month and she told me she'd had the bike at Burning Man, where she'd been in something called "Critical Tits."

"It was like Critical Mass, except all women, and we were all topless," she said.

I love my new bike.

previousnextrandom