Lazy Christmas

{ 12.24.03, 7:11 p.m. }

◊ Dude, my family rocks.

I came by my parent's place today. I sat on the couch, talking to my dad. My mom and sister wandered in and we tried to figure out our plans for Whoring Yourself Out to Buy Presents for People You Don't Even Like Day.

"I didn't go Christmas shopping," my mom said.

"Neither did I," I said.

"Nope," said my sister.

My dad said nothing.

My mom asked what restaurants would be open on Christmas, since she didn't feel like doing all kinds of cooking for just the four of us. My dad suggested we have a fondue instead.

I can't wait for my guilt-free, low-family, non-commercial Christmas.

See this? This is me pointing at all you stuck with your screaming families as you try ignore the whining kids, the sullen teens, the drunken, sentimental adults and the urge to empty your wine glass on the designated family bigot.

And I am laughing.

previousnextrandom