Searching for meaning

{ 12.09.03, 3:22 a.m. }

◊ I have been casting about for a new motto.

There's nothing wrong with "I'll sleep when I'm dead" as a way of life, but it's a little played out and I keep hearing it from frat boys. It's definitely time for something new.

My requirements are simple. It doesn't have to be a full-time credo, just something to brace myself with if the situation warrants it. It would be nice to work in a biblical reference because, hey, those are fuckin' funny coming from Antichrist Arlette. And it's gotta be something with bravado. It's OK if it sounds like something out of a bar movie or action film, as long as it's practically overflowing with balls. It needs to swagger.

And I think I might have it.

When you walk into the lion's den, look like the biggest motherfucking lion of all instead of a Christian.

Because, hey, Daniel may've been able to swing that thing with getting all buddy-buddy with the lion, but there is a metric assload of Christians-turned-martyrs who weren't as fast on their feet.

And sometimes God or Fate or whatever perverse motherfucker you want to say is in charge just ain't on your side.

previousnextrandom