Tongue in cheek = foot in mouth

{ 10.06.03, 9:15 p.m. }

◊ I have an uncanny gift for saying exactly the wrong thing at precisely the wrong time.

It's a wonder my best friend still talks to me, especially after the "I'm only saying this because I'm drunk and I can get away with this: fuck you" incident.

Thank you, Lil, for not killing me on the spot.

It's gotten better, though. When someone I didn't know too well brought up her self-mutilation problems, I managed not to say "Aww, man, that is so 1995" and came out with something at least marginally sympathetic.

And just so you know: there is no appropriate time to say "Oh, right, just like the Nazis before World War II."

Especially if you're talking about the rise of American patriotism since September 11.


I seriously hope this nasty queasiness is not the flu and is just the result of taking one too many chances with the 5-second rule. Best drink some Jack Daniel's to disinfect my gut in the fastest way possible, short of chugging bleach.

previousnextrandom