'Hand to hand to hand to hand'

{ 06.30.06, 2:58 a.m. }

◊ I'm watching "Watership Down" and "The Last Unicorn" back to back.

Good lord. "Watership Down" has rabbits being slaughtered by carnivores within just the first few minutes � only halfway through the creation myth! � and follows with frequent rabbit carnage. "The Last Unicorn" dives right into the unicorn's nonstop broken-hearted loneliness, Schmendrick's broken-hearted awkwardness and Molly Grue's broken-hearted regret. "The Last Unicorn" was my favorite movie for years and I read "Watership Down" like I was starving for it. They're parades of grimness and vague terror and hopeless struggle in the face of an evil much bigger and smarter and stronger than any of the heroes. It explains a whole hell of a lot about kids raised in the '80s.

Or it explains a lot about me, I guess.

(The illustration of the blindfolded boy used on this site's layout, by the way, is from the book of fairy tales I had as a child. The boy tied a scarf around his head after the goblins stole his eyes to punish him for crying all the time. The book explains a lot about me, too. I loaned it to Sonya because she understands � she's the one who loaned me "Watership Down.")

previousnextrandom