Dairy is hideously toxic

{ 09.29.04, 1:09 a.m. }

◊ Yay for lactose intolerance. My stomach is protesting the delicious cheese I ate earlier today by making funny noises. Not rumbling or anything I can pass off as normal gastric sound effects, but long, muffled, drawn-out moooooooo noises. It has happened before, with the noises occasionally running up to three or four consecutive seconds. It's just loud enough that anyone sitting next to me must wonder if I'm sitting on a particularly irritable ruminant.

Which I am, but that's beside the point.

I watched Tom Waits on Letterman with my mom. She was sprawled on the couch and sort of waved her foot arrhythmically while he sang. After he was done I asked her if she had liked it and she said "Well, it was very intense." (I think she was referring to Waits's spastic, seizure-like singing style.) "I don't think I liked that song so much."

Great. I know that tone of voice. My mother fucking hates Tom Waits.

At least I'm not a kid anymore. I won't have unscrew the back panel of my stereo and hide CDs inside like I did during her "anti-parental advisory sticker" phase when I was 15.

previousnextrandom