A little too much English on it

{ 09.20.04, 10:17 p.m. }

◊ I may have been a little cocky in my English class today when in the evaluation essay ("What English Classes Mean to Me, Especially EWRT1B") I explained that though my college career up until now has been "the academic equivalent of flipping burgers ... I can honestly (and without a trace of modesty) say that I kick ass at English classes." I also said that I am at school to learn, dammit, so I don't like it when my instructors don't give me solid criticism of what I write.

"If my writing were perfect, I wouldn't be here," I wrote. "I'd be basking on a beach in the tropics drinking pi�a coladas out of a pineapple and reading rave reviews of my fourth best-selling novel." (Please note the correct use of the subjunctive in the first sentence. Booyah.)

I then promised that if my instructor keeps me interested, I will think and work and learn, which is a lot more than I see in the students around me.

Except I referred to them as "glassy-eyed mouth-breathers."

previousnextrandom