Fortunes

{ 04.16.04, 4:41 p.m. }

◊ Somebody's been messing with my fortune cookies.

When I go to lunch with my dad, we go to Blue Sky, the restaurant I've been going to since I was a fetus, I'm told. After we're done talking aimlessly about what we've been up to, we open our fortune cookies and read our fortunes aloud to each other. It takes a little longer than it used to because sometimes my dad can't find his glasses and sometimes he asks me to read the fortune to him, but other than that, the ritual hasn't changed in over 15 years.

We always get the same fortunes: I end up with something about luck and chance, and my dad gets one that praises wisdom and patience. I am impatient and lucky and my dad sometimes drives my mom nuts with his patience and ponderous deliberation, so both of us are always pleased with our fortunes.

Right up until this week, that is. I got the boring and staid "Diligence is the mother of good fortune," and my dad got my all-time favorite, a fortune that said simply "Very soon, and in pleasant company."

I do not appreciate this sudden turn of events. I have a backup supply of old fortunes that I've tucked into my wallet that all promise sudden change and excellent luck, so I'm relying on those in the meantime, but if the tone of my fortunes doesn't start changing soon, I think I'm going to have to check my horoscope to find out what's going on.

previousnextrandom